INDIAN ASSOCIATION OF TEACHERS OF RUSSIAN LANGUAGE AND LITERATURE (REGISTRATION NO. S/50451/2004)

ANNUAL REPORT 2019-2020

- 1. Elections to the EC of INDAPRYAL were announced by the then outgoing EC of INDAPRYAL in June, 2019. Mr. Ajoy K. Karnati was appointed as the Returning Officer to conduct the Elections.
- 2. The New INDAPRYAL EC took charge on June 15, 2019.
- 3. The post of the Treasurer was not contested by anyone. Since this post could not be left vacant, the newly elected INDAPRYAL EC in its Meeting held on July 24, 2019 decided to nominate Mr. Ajoy K. Karnati, Faculty at the Centre of Russian Studies, JNU as Treasurer. Mr. Ajoy K. Karnati accepted the proposal and took charge as Treasurer of INDAPRYAL in August 2019.
- 4. The INDAPRYAL EC changed the signatories in the UCO bank account and added the name of the New Treasurer. The letters were submitted along with required KYC documents of the authorized persons.
- 5. A Letter was again submitted, as well as mails were written, to the Manager, UCO bank, Ferozeshah Road branch requesting the Bank to locate the missing draft of Rs. 42,689/submitted in November 2015 by the then office bearers of the Association. The UCO bank had not responded to numerous communications by INDAPRYAL to explain the fate of this draft and also the reason why this draft had not been credited to INDAPRYAL's bank account even after 5 long years.
- 6. INDAPRYAL Membership renewal drive was announced in August 2019 and Membership drive was undertaken to enroll new members as well. Membership renewal date was extended a few times on request of Members. Members could choose between Annual Membership, Life Membership or Associate Membership.
- 7. Renewed membership of MAPRYAL for the year 2019.
- 8. Announcement of the INDIAN JOURNAL OF RUSSIAN STUDIES (IJRS) to be published by INDAPRYAL was made and subsequently the research papers were invited from Indian as well as Foreign Russists/ subject experts. Editorial board comprising of Indian and Foreign faculty members was formed and the documentation was initiated to publish the journal. The

publication policy was framed keeping in mind the new UGC guidelines and maintaining the international standard and appeal.

- 9. IJRS received a good response. Articles were received not only from Indian Russists but also Russists from other countries. UGC guidelines were adhered to in publishing the articles.
- 10. A dedicated Website for the newly launched INDAPRYAL journal "INDIAN JOURNAL OF RUSSIAN STUDIES" (IJRS) was developed.
- 11. The INDAPRYAL EC sent recommendation to MAPRYAL for the award of Pushkin Medal to two Indian Russists. MAPRYAL accepted our recommendation and decided to confer the Prestigious Pushkin Medal on Prof. Charanjit Singh and Prof. Debal Dasgupta for their contribution to the Russian Studies in India.
- 12. INDAPRYAL took initiative to explore the possibility of collaborating with the State Pushkin Institute of Russian Language. After elaborate discussions, draft agreement was prepared to collaborate in organizing joint academic events, publications as well as exchange of students, research scholars and teachers of Russian language.
- 13. INDAPRYAL was instrumental in facilitating a free two-way Air ticket from a sponsor for one of its members to visit Moscow for an academic purpose. Applications were invited from Members to avail this Free Ticket. We are happy to inform that Mr. Ravinder Singh, Faculty at Aligarh Muslim University availed this sponsorship to visit Russia for a Faculty Development Programme in December 2019.
- 14. Information on various International conferences/ webinars/ competitions etc. was regularly shared with the Members

Warm regards,

Prof R.N. Menon (President)

Prof Kandarpa Das (Vice President)

Dr. Meenu Bhatnagar (General Secretary)

Dr. Kiran Singh Verma (Joint Secretary)

Dr. Ajoy K. Karnati (Treasurer)

Zonal Representatives:

North- Prof. Phool Chandra Singh & Mr. Soumendu K. Dutta

Central- Prof. Neelakshi Suryanarayan & Ms. Suman Beniwal

West- Mr. Kaushal Kishore & Mr. Sushant Saini

South- Prof. Govindan Nair & Dr. Boban C.

East – Dr. Subhash Thakur